Saving Mr. Banks

When I first heard about this movie, I wasn’t sure what to think. I am dying to see a really good Walt Disney biopic. Disney is a personal hero of mine, an innovator, a dreamer, a magician. I have been fascinated by the way he was able to surround himself with the right talent to pull off his dreams. However, this trailer has allayed any fears.

While not a true biopic, this film centers around an extremely interesting story – the story about how Walt tried to acquire the rights to Mary Poppins from P.L. Travers, which was a fascinating exercise in patience and tenacity, because of Travers personal attachment to the book and her belief that it could never be translated into a decent film. Truth be told, the film has very little to do with the book (which is a somewhat bleak, pretentious, puffed up piece of prose).

Saving Mr Banks is a period film set in a time when Hollywood was a magical gem sparkling among the hills, and Walt Disney was its arguable king. I am thrilled to see the Sherman Brothers get some love, and the trailer below filled me with warm nostalgic glow that made  me excited and giddy to see this now.

Tom Hanks pulls off a great homage to Walt, and while it is still blatantly obvious that this is Hanks doing Disney, and not some possession by the very spirit of the man (like D.D. Lewis’ amazing transformation into Lincoln, Ifound myself getting lost in the performance a couple of times just in the three minutes of footage we’ve been granted.

Nothing says nostalgia like old Hollywood and Disney films, and Mary Poppins was a favorite of mine as a child. I can’t wait to see what the entire thing plays like. I am especially excited to see the Disneyland footage where they filmed in the park and brought out vintage characters. I wish I could have met the man and been part of his empire, and he continues to thrill, inspire, and motivate me even 50 years after his death.

Enjoy the trailer:

 

One thought on “Saving Mr. Banks

Leave a Reply

