Did Monster’s University Rip Off Monty Python?

Have you seen Monsters University?

I did.

I thought it was a pretty good flick. I liked the college setting, and I would be lying if I told you it didn’t give me a nostalgic tickle or two, reminding me of glory days and gory days. As I watched the flick in a theater crowded with children and merriment, there was something about it that made me uneasy. I couldn’t quite put my finger on it, but for some reason I kept picturing a fat man vomiting in a four star restaurant, a man being chased off a cliff by buxom beauties, and Catholics dancing on a cobblestone street.

Then it hit me.

*Warning, this could be very disturbing to the easily impressionable and those with good taste.*

Monsters University ripped their anthem off of Monty Python’s The Meaning of Life.

I am serious . . . and seriously disturbed by this, and I am wondering what kind of monstrous group would insert such subliminal programming into their “kids” flick in order to attempt to manipulating them in order to forgo birth control and overpopulate this great planet of ours?

Oh yes, it is that insidious.

Let me show you what I mean:

Ok. So that was the Monster’s U anthem. Delightful, no? I mean it certainly sounds innocent and legit. The problem is that it completely rips off “Every Sperm Is Sacred” from Monty Python’s Meaning of Life. Check out what I mean at the :56 mark. (seriously, go straight there or this entire post will make no sense)

I know, right? Shocking.

Now listen to them both again. No, your ears are not deceiving you. They truly ripped off Python. What kind of world do we live in, anyway. Graham Chapman would be rolling over in his grave.

Think twice before submitting your child to this torture…

 

7 thoughts on “Did Monster’s University Rip Off Monty Python?

  1. Hello, Nostalgic Daydream,

    I want to say thanks for following me at http://www.oldspouse.wordpress.com.

    I’d like to add that if you enjoy my “This Old Spouse” column, I think you’ll love this:

    http://www.amazon.com/The-Oklo-Device-ebook/dp/B00F9IPO04/ref=sr_1_1?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1379510327&sr=1-1

    Or you can go here:

    http://www.smashwords.com/books/view/354657

    It’s a terrifying story called The Oklo Device.

    Take a look at the story; see if you get hooked on it, e-mail me at roger.white@tasb.org, and I’ll send you the rest. If you like the story, please share with others. This is the only way good things happen today–agents and publishers are of the dinosaur era. They’re slow; they’re frightened; and they’ll eat you if you’re not careful. We’re on our own. I truly believe in this book. If you do, too, share it with someone. Thank you!

    And thank you so much, again, for being one of the faithful.

    Best regards,
    Roger White
    “This Old Spouse”

  2. Omfg. Seen this today. It is so fucking true. I just searched Google just to prove for myself that I’m not crazy. Everytime the song came up, this little boys voice sang “every sperm is sacred..”

  3. I hope Eric Idle and the Monty Python gang sue Randy Newman. The movie sucked because I was expecting a Monty Python skit!!!!

    Randy Newman you suck!!!

    • It certainly caught me off guard. I expected to think about Sully and Mike, not Catholic children with British accents, singing about their creation. On second thought, I smiled every time that song played.

Leave a Reply

